Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

45th Annual Meeting of Spanish Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (SEBBM)

September 5, 2023 to September 8, 2023


Dear colleagues

On behalf of the Organizing Committee, we welcome you and encourage you to actively participate in the 45th SEBBM Congress that commemorates the 60th anniversary of the Society (1963-2023).

It will take place in the city of Zaragoza from September 5 to 8, 2023. A welcoming city, well connected, with a broad cultural legacy that has had the honor of hosting the SEBBM Congress in two previous editions, in 1986 and 2005.

The headquarters will be located in the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Zaragoza. The opening ceremony (Tuesday, September 5 at 6:00 p.m.) will take place in the Mozart Hall of the Zaragoza Auditorium and will be attended by Prof. Dame Caroline Dean, from the John Innes Centre, United Kingdom. The closing lecture will be given by Dr. Alexander Pritzel from DeepMind on the development and applications of AlphaFold.

During the Congress, we will enjoy a wide range of Plenary Conferences, Symposiums, Meetings of the SEBBM Scientific Groups, Poster Sessions and the Commercial Exhibition of the collaborating companies. We can also enjoy satellite activities such as the Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Research Initiation Course, the Entrepreneur Forum, and the Biochemistry activities in the city.

The plenary lectures will be given by Prof. Antonio Vidal-Puig (United Kingdom), Prof. Peter Rehling (Germany), Dr. Ángeles Zorreguieta (Argentina). The Symposiums will present the most current research and will have the collaboration of the Network of Associations of Spanish Researchers and Scientists Abroad (RAICEX). The biochemical societies of Argentina and Chile will be represented by their respective speakers during these conferences.

We encourage congressmen to visit the stands of the sponsoring companies, to whom we thank for their support, and also to participate in the different calls for SEBBM Awards . The awards ceremony will take place during the Congress.

We are waiting for you in Zaragoza 2023!

Inmaculada Yruela Guerrero (President of the Organizing Committee)
Milagros Medina Trullenque (Vice President of the Organizing Committee)
Isabel Varela Nieto (President of SEBBM)


**Also featuring IUBMB Plenary Lecturer: Antonio Vidal-Puig**

IUBMB Plenary Lecutre_Antonio Vidal-Puig



MAY 31:   Registration reduced rate
JUN 2:      Travel Grant Deadline


Faculty of Medicine of the University of Zaragoza
University of Zaragoza Zaragoza 50009 Spain + Google Map


Inmaculada Yruela Guerrero, President of the Organizing Committee
Milagros Medina Trullenque, Vice President of the Organizing Committee
Isabel Varela Nieto, President of SEBBM