International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Wood-Whelan Fellowships awarded in 2012 

 

Identification of host proteins involved in poliovirus nonreplicative RNA 

recombination, using shRNA technique 

3 months 

Anna Shishova (US $3000) 

Department of Virology 

Moscow State University 

Russia 

E-mail: a_shishova@list.ru 

TO Dr Alessandro Marcello 

Molecular Virology 

International Centre for Genetic Enginerring 

and Biotechnology (ICGEB) 

Trieste 

Italy 

E-mail : marcello@icgeb.org 

 

Implication of mitochondrial morphology in hepatocyte physiology 

4 months 

Shunmugam Nagarajan (US $3000) 

Au-kbc Research Centre 

MIT Campus of Anna University 

Chennai 

India 

E-mail: shunmugam86@gmail.com 

TO Prof JF Dufour 

Department of clinical Research 

Heptalogy 

Murten str. 35 

3010 

Bern 

Switzerland 

E-mail : jf.dufour@ikp.unibe.ch 

 

Ezcema, traffic related pollution and genetic variations in xenoiotic metabolizing enzymes 

3 months 

Miaozhu Li (US $1800) 

Institute for Nutritional Sciences 

SIBS 

Chinese Academy of Sciences 

Room 34# 419 

No. 294 

Taiyuan Road 

Shanghai 

China 

E-mail: mzli@sibs.ac.cn 

TO Prof Dr. Jean Krutmann 

IUF gGmbh 

Auf’m Hennekamp 50 

D-40225 Dusseldorf 

Germany 

Email: monika.brinkmann@uni-dusseldorf.de 

 

Label-free Interaction analysis of Cytochrome c and Novel Protein Partners during PCD in Real-time Using Surface Plasmon Resonance 

2.5 weeks 

KatiuskaGonzalez Arzola (US $ 1600) 

Institute of Plant Biochemistry and 

Photosynthesis 

Av. Americo Vespuccio 

Seville 

Spain 

E-mail: katiuska.gonzalez@ibvf.csic.es 

TO Prof Dr. Rita Bernhardt 

Campus, Geb B2,2 

D-66123 

Saarbrucken 

Germany 

E-mail : ritabern@mx.uni-saarland.de 

 

IGF1 system in diabetic retinopathy 

3 months 

Valeria Erika Lorenc (US $3000) 

CIBICI-CONICET 

Ciudad Universitaria 

5000 Cordoba 

Argentina 

E-mail: drvlkv@gmail.com 

TO Dr. Gerard A. Lutty 

Wilmer Opthalmological Institute 

M041 Smith Building 

400 North Broadway 

John Hopkins Hospital 

Baltimore 

USA 

E-mail : ritterg@mskcc.org 

 

A transcriptional coregulator GRIP1 at the intersection of pro-and anti-inflammatory pathways 

2 months 

Elisabetta de Marinis (US $3500) 

25 Via Francesco Catel 

00152 – Roma 

Italy 

E-mail: edemarinis@uniroma3.it 

TO Dr Inez Rogatsky 

Microbiology and Immunology 

The New York Presbyterian Hospital & The 

Weill Medical College of Cornell University 

535 East 70th Street 

New York 

NY 10021 

USA 

Email: rogatsky@hss.edu 

 

Effect of cassava on A.flavus growth and aflatoxin B1 production 

3 months 

Yann Christie Sissinto Adjovi (US $3500) 

Laboratory of Biochemistry & Molecular 

Biology 

Faculty of Sciences and Technology 

University of Abomey-Calavi (UAC) 

04 BP0320 

Cotonou 

Republic of Benin 

E-mail: bigyann2013@yahoo.fr 

TO Dr Isabelle Oswald 

Head of ImmunoMycoToxicology 

INRA 

180 Chemin de Tournefeuille 

BP 93173 

31027 Toulouse Cedex 3 

France 

E-mail : ioswald@toulouse.inra.fr 

 

Cell studies of amyloidogenic human stefin B and its EPM1 mutants 

3.5 months 

Mira Polajnar (US $3500) 

Gubceve brigade 61 

1108 Ljubljana 

Slovenia 

E-mail : mira.polajnar@ijs.si 

TO Prof Salvador Ventura 

Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona 

Institute of Biotechnology and Biomedicine 

Parc de Recerca AUB 

Modul B 

E-08193 Bellaterra 

Barcelona 

Spain 

 

Biomolecular Interaction of HSP90 

4 months 

Moyo Buhle (US $4000) 

Department of Biochemistry, Microbiology 

and Biotech 

Rhodes University 

Grahamstown 

6140 

South Africa 

E-mail: buhle.moyo@gmail.com 

TO Dr. Sophie Jackson 

Department of Chemistry 

Lensfield Road 

Cambridge CB2 1EW 

United Kingdom 

E-mail : chhod@hermes.cam.ac.uk 

 

GPCR/ERK5 activation of muscarinic acid receptors 

2 weeks 

Guzman Sanchez Fernandez (US $1400) 

Universidad Autonoma de Madrid y Centro 

de Biologica Molecular Severo Ocha 

28049 

Madrid 

Spain 

E-mail : gsanchez@cbm.uam.es 

TO Prof Andrew Tobin 

University of Leicester 

Department of Cell Physiology and 

Pharmacology 

Hodgkin Building 

Lancaster Road 

Leicester LE1 9HN 

United Kingdom 

E-mail : tba@le.ac.uk 

 

Identification of the butanol tolerance genes in E.coli 

3 months 

Ali Samy Ali Abd El-Aal (US $3500) 

ARC 

9 Gamaa St. 

12619 Giza 

Egypt 

Email : Asamy82@gmail.com 

TO Dr Katy Kao 

Department of chemical engineering 

212 Jack E. Brown engineering Building 

3122 TAMU 

College Station 

TX77843-3122 

USA 

Email : kao.katy@gmail.com 

 

Expression of the RSc0559 gene in Ralstonia Solanacearum 

1 month 

Maria Laura Tondo (US $2700) 

3 de Febrero 2055 7B 

Rosario 

Sante Fe 

Argentina 

Email : tondo@ibr.gov.ar 

TO Dr Stephane Genin 

LIPM (INRA-CNRS) 

BP 52627 

F-31326 Castanet Tolosan 

France 

Email : sgenin@toulouse.inra.fr 

 

Development of an image acquisition and analysis method to study AKT localisation and dynamics in different tumour cell lines 

3 months 

Matias Blaustein (US $4000) 

University of Beunos Aires 

Argentina 

E-mail : mblaustein@fbmc.fcen.uba.ar 

TO Dr. Pepperkok 

Meyerhofstrabe 1 

69117 Heidelverg 

Germany 

Email : pepperko@embl.de 

 

Biogenesis and function of Plasma membrane nanodomains 

3 months 

Augustina Olivera-Couto (US $3200) 

Institut Pasteur de Montevideo 

Mataojo 2020 

Montevideo 

11400 

Uruguay 

Email : aolivera@pasteur.edu.uy 

TO Prof Enrico Gratton 

Professor of Biomedical engineering and 

Principal Invistagtor of the Laboratory for 

Fluorescence Dynamics 

University of California 

USA 

Email : egratton@uci.edu 

 

KLF6 implications in preeclampsia : effect of placental hypoxia/repxygenation injury 

3 months 

Ana Cristina Racca (US $3000) 

CIBICI-CONICET 

Department of Bioquimica Clinica 1er pisa 

Lab 120 

Fac Cs Quimicas UNC 

Av Medina Allende esq Haya de la Torre 

Ciudad Universitaria 

X5000HUA Cordona 

Argentina 

Email : aracca@fcq.unc.edu.ar 

TO Professor Charles H Graham and Prof Louise Winn 

Department of Biomedical and Molecular Sciences 

Queens University 

Kingston, Ontario 

Canada 

K7L 3N6 

Email : grahamc@queensu.ca 

 

Measuring changes in ocular structures during head tilting 

3 months 

Jamila H. Siamwala (US $3000) 

SS Ravi Stem Cell Biology Laboratory 

Kallam Anji Reddy Campus 

LV Prasad Eye Institute 

Road No.2, Banjara Hills, Hyderabad – 

500034 

India 

Email : jamilasiamwala@gmail.com 

TO Prof Steven Garfin 

Distinguished Professor and Chair 

Prof Alan Hargens 

Professor of Physiology 

University of California 

School of Medicine 

San Diego 

USA 

Email : whess@ucsd.edu 

 

Do disruptions of a ZIC2 Non-coding Conserved Element cause Holoprosencephaly? 

3 months 

Kristen Barratt (US $4000) 

Early Mammalian Development Lab 

Rm2100, Building 46, RSB 

Australian National University 

ACT, Australia, 0200 

Email : kristen.barratt@anu.edu.au 

TO Dr Maximilian Muenke 

Chief, Medical Genetics Branch 

Director, Medical Genetics and Genomic 

Medicine Residency and Fellowship 

National Human Genome Research Institute 

National Institutes of Health 

35 Convent Drive, Building 35, Room 1B-203 

Bethesda, Maryland 

USA 

Email : mamuenke@mail.nih.gov 

 

*Study of the mechanisms of duplication and segregation for the two chromosomes of the pathogen Brucella abortus during in vitro and infection conditions. 

3 months 

Michael Deghelt 

Unite de Recherche en Biologie Moleculaire 

(URBM) 

Facultes Universitaires Notre-Dame de la 

Paix (FUNDP) 

Rue de Bruxelles, 61 

B-5000 Namur 

Belgium 

E-mail: michael.degheldt@fundp.ac.be 

TO Prof Christine Jacobs-Wagner 

Professor of Molecular, Cellular and 

Developmental Biology 

Yale University 

New Haven, Conneticut 

USA 

E-mail: christine.jacobs-wagner@yale.edu 

*Successful, but declined and/or withdrawn by applicant as EMBO funding received.